Before the ruins : a novel / Victoria Gosling.

By: Gosling, Victoria
Material type: TextTextPublisher: New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2020Edition: First editionDescription: 274 pages ; 25 cmISBN: 9781250759153; 1250759153Subject(s): Teenagers -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Abandoned houses -- Fiction | Necklaces -- Fiction | Women alcoholics -- Fiction | Thieves -- Fiction | Secrecy -- FictionGenre/Form: Thrillers (Fiction)Summary: "A multi-layered literary debut in the tradition of Paula Hawkins and Tana French about four friends, an abandoned manor, and one fateful night that will follow them for the rest of their lives"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Coming Soon
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Adult Book Phillipsburg Free Public Library
Adult Fiction New Books FIC GOSLING Checked out 03/15/2021 36748002483966
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> Named a Best New Book of 2021 (so far) by Real Simple <br> Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by Lit Hub and Bustle <br> <br> A gripping, multilayered debut in the tradition of Tana French and Donna Tartt about four friends, an empty manor, and a night that will follow them for the rest of their lives <br> <br> It's the summer of 1996 and school's out forever for Andy, her boyfriend Marcus, her best friend Peter, and Em. When Andy's alcoholic mother predicts the apocalypse, the four teenagers decide to see out the end of the world at a deserted manor house, the site of a historic unsolved mystery. There they meet David--charming and unreliable, he seems to have appeared out of nowhere.<br> <br> David presents an irresistible lure for both Andy and Peter and complicates the dynamics of their lifelong friendship. When the group learns that a diamond necklace, stolen fifty years ago, might still be somewhere on the manor grounds, the Game--half treasure hunt, half friendly deception--begins. But the Game becomes much bigger than the necklace, growing to encompass years of secrets, lies, and, ultimately, one terrible betrayal.<br> <br> Meticulously plotted and gorgeously written, Before the Ruins is a page-turner of the highest order about the sealed-off places in our pasts and the parts of ourselves waiting to be retrieved from them.</p>

"A multi-layered literary debut in the tradition of Paula Hawkins and Tana French about four friends, an abandoned manor, and one fateful night that will follow them for the rest of their lives"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Kirkus Book Review

When her friend Peter goes missing, Andy digs up long-buried secrets from their teenage years to find him. The year was 1996, and Andy's neglectful mother was sure the apocalypse was nigh. Andy; her boyfriend, Marcus; her best friend, Peter; and their other friend, Em, decide to break into an abandoned manor and pretend that the world really is ending and that they can therefore do whatever they want without consequence. At the manor they meet David, a mysterious boy about their age whose enigmatic presence pits Peter and Andy against each other, vying for David's attention. When they hear a story about a diamond necklace supposedly hidden somewhere on the property, Em buys a fake necklace that they take turns hiding and searching for, a ritual they simply call "the game." Twenty years later, Andy hears from Peter's mother that Peter has gone missing. Andy goes digging back into their past in an attempt to find some clue that might lead her to Peter, but she finds more mysteries than she bargained for. Though it's Peter's disappearance that sets off the events that lead Andy to unpack her youth, this book isn't exactly a thriller. The elements of mystery serve to provide narrative tension, but the real point here is Gosling's examination of the disappointment of modern living, the emptiness of adulthood, and the notion of the fake diamond necklace so many of us spend our lives searching for. The ending doesn't quite satisfy, and a few of the passages on contemporary culture fall flat--for example, saying that Tinder is superficial is not much of an observation at this point. But Andy's search for her friend works well as a scaffolding for some lovely passages, like Andy's thoughts on the online trend of "unboxing" videos: "And every time, when the moment finally came, I wondered if the hundreds of thousands of other people who watched these videos felt the same as I did, the same anticipation, the same surprise, and ultimately the same disappointment--that what was inside the box was just a thing." Come for the missing person mystery, stay for the existential ennui. Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Phillipsburg Free Public Library
200 Broubalow Way
Phillipsburg, NJ 08865
(908)-454-3712
www.pburglib.org

Powered by Koha